The Marriage of Figaro

The Marriage of figaro

Mozart's brilliant opera The Marriage of Figaro follows the adventures of a household over one crazy day. Masters are lusting over their servants, servants are outwitting their masters - Figaro is the Downton Abbey of opera, but a whole lot more fun!

Award-winning creative duo Michael Gow and Robert Kemp have created a brand new production, featuring stunning period costumes and a clever set.   A talented chamber orchestra and chorus of local children will accompany some of Opera Australia's finest singers performing Mozart’s beautiful music. 

In a wealthy household in Seville, Figaro is marrying Susanna, but the Count wants to seduce her first. Marcellina wants Figaro and the Countess just wants her husband back. But Susanna is smarter than all of them. After a crazy day of disguise and duplicity, will she get her happily ever after?

The Marriage of Figaro is a delightful night out, suitable for the whole family. Find out when it comes to a town near you!

Tickets are available from tour venues.

2016 Tour

Albury Entertainment Centre (NSW) | Tuesday 23 August

Armidale University of New England (NSW) | Thursday 11 August

Ballarat Her Majesty's (Vic) | Saturday 23 July

Bathurst Memorial Entertainment Centre (NSW) | Tuesday 2 August

Bendigo Ulumbarra Theatre (Vic) | Thursday 21 July

Burnie Arts and Function Centre (Tas) | Tuesday 30 August

Canberra Theatre Centre (ACT) | Thurday 25 August, Friday 26 August & Saturday 27 August

Dandenong | Drum Theatre (Vic) | Friday 15 July & Saturday 16 July

Dubbo Regional Theatre (NSW) | Tuesday 9 August

Hobart Theatre Royal (Tas) | Thursday 1 September

Launceston Princess Theatre (Tas) | Tuesday 6 September

Orange Civic Theatre (NSW) | Thursday 4 August

Parramatta | Riverside Theatre (NSW) | Friday 19 August & Saturday 20 August

Port Macquarie The Glasshouse (NSW) | Saturday 13 August

Tamworth Capitol Theatre (NSW) | Saturday 6 August

Wagga Wagga Civic Theatre (NSW) | Saturday 30 July

Wangaratta Performing Arts Centre (Vic) | Tuesday 19 July

Warragul | West Gipsland Arts Centre (Vic) | Thursday 28 July

Warrnambool | The Lighthouse (Vic) | Tuesday 26 July

Wollongong | Illawarra Performing Arts Centre (NSW) | Tuesday 16 August & Wednesday 17 August

Conductor Paul Fitzsimon
director Michael Gow
adaptation by Michael Gow
Set and costume designer Robert Kemp
lighting designer Matt Scott
count almaviva Christopher Hillier
  Simon Meadows
Countess Emma Castelli
  Olivia Cranwell
Susanna Celeste Lazarenko
  Jenny Liu
Figaro Wade Kernot
  Tom Hamilton
Cherubino Agnes Sarkis
Marcellina Kristen Leich
Bartolo Steven Gallop
Don Basilio/curzio Brad Cooper
BarbarinA Jenny Liu
  Celeste Lazarenko
Antonio Tom Hamilton
  Wade Kernot

Chamber Orchestra

Performed in English


Opera Australia's regional and schools touring program is made possible by generous donations from opera lovers. Opera Australia would like to thank:

The Andrews Foundation
Australian Decorative & Fine Arts Society
Commonwealth Bank Staff Community Fund
The Gwen and Edna Jones Foundation
Anonymous (1)