Search
Bran Nue Dae

Jimmy Chi & Kuckles

Bran Nue Dae

Comedy TheatreJune 12 – July 12, 2020
Date
Time
Premium Reserve
A Reserve
B Reserve
C Reserve
Fri 12.6.20
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 13.6.20
2:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 13.6.20
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sun 14.6.20
3:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Tue 16.6.20
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Wed 17.6.20
1:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Wed 17.6.20
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Thu 18.6.20
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Fri 19.6.20
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 20.6.20
2:00 PM
Buy Tickets

This is a relaxed performance, which is designed to ensure guests who may benefit from a more relaxed environment can enjoy the performance experience. This can include families with older children, guests on the autism spectrum, guests with dementia, anyone with sensory or cognitive considerations or any individuals who prefer to watch the performance in a more flexible setting. 

Sat 20.6.20
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sun 21.6.20
3:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Tue 23.6.20
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Wed 24.6.20
1:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Wed 24.6.20
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Thu 25.6.20
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Fri 26.6.20
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 27.6.20
2:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 27.6.20
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sun 28.6.20
3:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Tue 30.6.20
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Wed 1.7.20
1:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Wed 1.7.20
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Thu 2.7.20
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Fri 3.7.20
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 4.7.20
2:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 4.7.20
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sun 5.7.20
3:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Tue 7.7.20
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Wed 8.7.20
1:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Wed 8.7.20
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Thu 9.7.20
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Fri 10.7.20
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 11.7.20
2:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 11.7.20
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sun 12.7.20
1:00 PM
Buy Tickets

Set out on the road trip of a lifetime with a spunky runaway teenager, two hippies, a wily Uncle, and a German priest. By the time you shake the red dust from your feet, you’ll know what it means to come home.

Jimmy Chi’s coming-of-age musical Bran Nue Dae is an exuberant ride through 1960s Western Australia. Young Willie hitchhikes his way from mission school back to Broome, determined to win the heart of the girl he left behind.

A feel-good mash-up of rock-and-roll, gospel, country and blues music made this first-ever Aboriginal musical a sparkling success in 1990.

The stage is a recreation of the historic Sun Pictures open-air cinema in Broome, and the costumes are delightfully nostalgic.

Chi’s semi-autobiographical musical is packed with humour and hope. It’s a story for all Australians, the late musician said. “It is my story but it is also yours and everybody else you know who seeks love and happiness in a world clouded by injustice.”



Musical Director & Indigenous Advisor

Michael Mavromatis

Musical Director Patrick Bin Amat
Director Andrew Ross
Associate Director Naomi Pigram

Set & Costume Designer

Mark Thompson
Choreographer Tara Gower
Lighting Designer Mark Howett
Sound Designer Michael Waters
   
Uncle Tadpole N.N.
Willie Marcus Corowa
Rosie Teresa Moore
Father Benedictus Andrew Moran
Marijuana Annie Tuuli Narkle
Slippery Callan Purcell
Aunty Theresa Ngaire Pigram
Ensemble Adi Cox
 

Damar Isherwood

  Tehya Jamieson
  Danielle Sibosado
  Czack (Ses) Bero
  Taj Jamieson
  Bojesse Pigram
  Tai Savage
   
Band Mia Brine
  Ben Ingvarson
  Manny Mavromatis
Band & Indigenous Advisor

Bart Pigram


Please note: this production contains strong language, adult themes and sexual references.


Running time: approximately 2 hours & 20 minutes, including one interval.


Sung in English.

The StoryHide

A young teenager sets out on the road trip of a lifetime when he runs away from mission school in Perth and heads back to Broome, with a German priest in pursuit.

Along the way, Willie meets a wily old Uncle and two hippies who will turn his life upside down.

Everyone learns something about themselves in this coming-of-age story.

The performance on 20 June at 2pm is a designated relaxed performance. There are no significant differences to the production however we aim to provide a more relaxed environment.

A relaxed performance is designed to ensure guests with disability and their families, or anyone who may benefit from a more relaxed environment, can more fully enjoy the performance experience together. This can include people on the autism spectrum, anyone with sensory or cognitive considerations, families with older children*, or any individuals who prefer to watch the performance in a more flexible setting. Anyone can benefit.

Guests are welcome to come and go from their seats during the performance to make the show more accommodating for persons with disability to facilitate any accessibility considerations they may require.

A Social Story pdf guide with performance timings, detailed descriptions and images of the venue will be available in the near future if you’d like to be more informed about what to expect when you visit.

A ‘Quiet Space’ is available if a break from the show is needed.

Opera Australia would like to thank Autism Spectrum Australia (Aspect) for their assistance in making this accessible performance possible.

*Please note this production contains strong language, adult themes and sexual references.

Buy TicketsBuy Tickets
View Cart
0 Items
$0.00