Search
West Side Story at Sydney Opera House

Opera Australia & GWB Enterainment present the BB Group production of

West Side Story at Sydney Opera House

Joan Sutherland Theatre, Sydney Opera HouseAugust 16 – October 6, 2019
Date
Time
Premium Reserve
A Reserve
B Reserve
C Reserve
D Reserve
Fri 16.8.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 17.8.19
1:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 17.8.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sun 18.8.19
1:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Sun 18.8.19
6:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Tue 20.8.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Wed 21.8.19
1:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Wed 21.8.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Thu 22.8.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Fri 23.8.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 24.8.19
1:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 24.8.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sun 25.8.19
3:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Tue 27.8.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Wed 28.8.19
1:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Wed 28.8.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Thu 29.8.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Fri 30.8.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 31.8.19
1:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 31.8.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sun 1.9.19
3:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Tue 3.9.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Wed 4.9.19
1:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Wed 4.9.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Thu 5.9.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Fri 6.9.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 7.9.19
1:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 7.9.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sun 8.9.19
3:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Tue 10.9.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Wed 11.9.19
1:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Wed 11.9.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Thu 12.9.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Fri 13.9.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 14.9.19
1:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 14.9.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sun 15.9.19
3:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Tue 17.9.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Wed 18.9.19
1:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Wed 18.9.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Thu 19.9.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Fri 20.9.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 21.9.19
1:00 PM
Buy Tickets

This is an audio described performance for those with vision impairments. Audio-described bookings can only be made through Opera Australia by calling the Box Office in Sydney on 02 9318 8200, Melbourne on 03 9685 3700 or by emailing ticketing@opera.org.au

Sat 21.9.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sun 22.9.19
3:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Tue 24.9.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Wed 25.9.19
1:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Wed 25.9.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Thu 26.9.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Fri 27.9.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 28.9.19
1:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 28.9.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sun 29.9.19
3:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Tue 1.10.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Wed 2.10.19
1:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Wed 2.10.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Thu 3.10.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Fri 4.10.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 5.10.19
1:00 PM
Buy Tickets
Sat 5.10.19
7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
Sun 6.10.19
1:00 PM
Buy Tickets

Love, loyalty, and fate.

The moment the curtain went up on the original West Side Story on Broadway, musical theatre changed forever.
 
Hailed as the greatest Broadway musical of all time, the genius of West Side Story's creators is unquestioned. The remarkable collaboration between Leonard Bernstein, Arthur Laurents, Stephen Sondheim and Jerome Robbins produced a timeless masterpiece.
 
Bernstein’s world-famous score features unforgettable songs including ‘Maria’, ‘Tonight’, ‘Somewhere’, ‘America’ and ‘I Feel Pretty’, that have been universally adored for generations; proving this iconic dance musical remains one of the most poignant stage works of the twentieth century.
 
A modern retelling of Romeo and Juliet; this tragic love story tells the tale of two young people whose happiness is destroyed by the hate of two enemy camps in New York City’s urban jungle. The Jets, sons of previous immigrants to America, battle the new arrivals from Puerto Rico, the Sharks, for domination of the streets.
 
Director Joey McKneely’s vibrant new staging will feature some of Australia’s most exciting young talent performing Jerome Robbins’ original ground-breaking choreography in two of Australia’s most iconic theatres.  
 
The ideal fusion of dance, music, and theatre; experience this internationally celebrated production of West Side Story for a limited season only.
 


Subscribe to the opera in 2019 and come with us on an inspiring journey...

A mother and a daughter watch the opera together

Explore a season full of highlights, charting a course through love and passion and despair (this is opera, after all). You can laugh and revel in extraordinary talent, or gasp your way through ghost stories. Our 2019 season leaves no corner unexplored. Choose three or more productions to unlock a subscriber discount, along with exclusive benefits throughout the year.


 

West Side Story

 

Director and Choreographer

Joey McKneely

Musical Supervisor Donald Chan
Set Designer Paul Gallis
Costume Designer Renate Schmitzer
Make-up Designer Hannelore Uhrmacher
Sound Designer Matt Grounds
Lighting Designer Peter Halbsgut
Re-light Designer Adam Sutton
   
Tony Todd Jacobsson
Maria Sophie Salvesani
Anita Chloé Zuel
Riff Noah Mullins
Bernardo Lyndon Watts
Doc Ritchie Singer
Lt. Schrank Paul Dawber
Officer Krupke Dean Vince
Glad Hand Paul Hanlon
Action Joshua Taylor
A-Rab Nicholas Collins
Baby John Christian Ambesi
Snow Boy Nathan Pavey
Big Deal Blake Tuke
Diesel Sebastien Golenko
Anybodys Molly Bugeja
Graziella Natasha O'Hehir
Velma Angelica Di Clemente
Minnie Taylah Small
Clarice Sarah Dimas
Chino Anthony Garcia
Pepe Keanu Gonzalez
Moose/Tony Alternate Daniel Assetta
Luis Matthew Antonucci
Anxious Jason Yang Westland
Nibbles/Dance Captain Brady Kitchingham
Rosalia/Maria Alternate Zoe Ioannou
Consuelo Olivia Carniato
Teresita/Dance Captain Nikki Croker
Francisca Amba Fewster
Margarita Ariana Mazzeo
Swing Joseph Donovan
Swing Daniel Wijngaarden

Opera Australia Orchestra


Please note: this production contains strong language and adult themes; not recommended for children under the age of 12.


Running time: TBC


Performed in English.


Are you looking for West Side Story on Sydney Harbour


Originally produced on Broadway by Robert E. Griffith and Harold S. Prince
By arrangement with Roger L. Stevens
Buy TicketsBuy Tickets
View Cart
0 Items
$0.00